official blog

Boris Johnson Withdrawal Agreement Vote

In the 2016 referendum, the UK voted 52% to 48% to leave the EU. But the ensuing difficulties in getting Brexit through Parliament led to a stalemate in Westminster. The UK will keep a copy of the agreement, while the original will return to Brussels, where it will be kept in an archive along with other historic international agreements. With regard to the Irish border issue, there is a protocol on Northern Ireland (the “backstop”) which is annexed to the agreement and defines a return case position that will only enter into force in the absence of evidence of other effective arrangements before the end of the transitional period. If this is the case, the UK will eclipse the EU`s external common law and Northern Ireland will remain in the internal market aspects until such a manifestation is achieved. None of the parties can unilaterally withdraw from this customs union. The aim of this backstop agreement is to avoid a “hard” border in Ireland, where customs controls are necessary. [19] Sarah Champion, Rosie Cooper, Jon Cruddas, Toby Perkins. Grahame Morris (as expected) and Emma Lewell Buck (as already reported) vote in favour of Bill #brexit (#wab) Only Lewell Buck voted in favour of the proposed programme on @UKLabour benches The most important document of the law is: “My lords, the House of Commons has passed the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act for which they want the lords to be approved. A previous withdrawal agreement – reached between former Prime Minister May and the EU – was rejected three times by MPs.

The bill “tears apart” the key principles of the Withdrawal Agreement, he argues. Six Labourists voted in favour of the bill – Sarah Champion, Rosie Cooper, Jon Cruddas, Emma Lewell-Buck, Grahame Morris, Toby Perkins. Here is Lewell-Buck`s speech where she says she decided with a heavy heart that she could not vote with the Labour Party. The Withdrawal Agreement also provides for the United Kingdom to leave the Convention on the Statute for the European Schools, with the United Kingdom being bound by the Convention and the accompanying rules on accredited European Schools until the end of the last academic year of the transition period.dem, i.e. at the end of the 2020-2021 spring semester. [20] Please note below a brief explanation of today`s vote on the Withdrawal Agreement: Former Prime Minister Theresa May is now in in deep discussion with her former leader Whip Julian Smith. . . .

Comments are closed.

Leave a Reply: